The Capital Gallery inducted five artists into Icon Hall of Fame

Updated: Oct 29

Bismarck, N. Dak. – The Capital Gallery inducted five North Dakota artists into its Icon Hall of Fame at a ceremony in Bismarck on Thursday, October 27th. The induction ceremony will take place during the Gallery’s annual fundraising gala event at Bismarck State College.

The five Capital Gallery Icons artists to be recognized for their longevity, quality of work, and far-reaching impact on the world of art include: Vern Erickson, Bismarck; Walter Piehl, Minot; Kaye Burian, Manning; Butch Thunder Hawk, Bismarck; and Todd Clausnitzer, Bismarck.

“We hold in high regard the people who have made The Capital Gallery one of the Upper Midwest’s most notable fine art galleries and we have created a hall of fame to honor and celebrate them and their work,” says Jim Christianson, Chairman of the Capital Gallery Society. “Their success is our success, and the broader community benefits from what they create. We also celebrate, with deep gratitude, our patrons who make our mission successful.”

The Capital Gallery operates as a nonprofit, membership-supported organization with a mission of celebrating history, art and culture. Since opening its doors in 2016, the gallery has worked with more than 50 artists, staged over 30 fine art exhibitions, and sold more than 1,000 art pieces to collectors all over the country. A second gallery, The Capital Gallery West, debuted in Medora in 2019.

For more information or to purchase tickets for the event, go to:

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Capital Gallery, Bismarck, N. Dak., announced today that it is beginning its search for a new executive director. David Borlaug, who has served in this position since the gallery opened, will be s